top of page

A stroll through Malmö 'the city of parks'

There are these days... you wake up and you get the idea that today will be special. Today, I will go on an adventure!

It happened to me a few days ago. While I was still trying to figure out how to rock my little girl in my arms, to deal with a toddler standing on my foot, and to prepare the morning coffee at the same time, I decided that I would take a break from the daily routine. A day trip! Another city! Another county!?

This is the short story of me and my 6 months old baby girl visiting the Swedish city of Malmö for a day including some tips for a relaxed and interesting visit.

As I can see the Øresund bridge from Denmark to Sweden right when I look out of my window here in Copenhagen, the Danish capital city, I decided to visit the Swedish city Malmö for the day. Since the crossing between Copenhagen and Malmö opened in 2000, all you need is to hop on a train and cross the Øresund. It is actually the longest combined rail and road bridge in Europe and it takes less than 25 minutes from Copenhagen Airport to the center of Malmö and costs less than 12 EUR/89 DKK one way.

Short note for Danish readers: You can use your rejsekort for this trip and ‘check ud’ at Malmö C, which gives you a rebate on the above mentioned standard price.

Øresund bridge from the Swedish side

Wandering the streets to the park

You do not necessarily need a lot of planning to make it an exciting day. Especially with a baby in tow, it seems often easier to just go with the flow and follow your baby’s rhythm. Google maps is always a good starting point and led me exit the central station in the direction to Kungsparken, the oldest public park in the city, in which also the famous Malmö castle, a fortress from the Renaissance, is located. It now hosts the largest museum in Southern Sweden. We also came by the historical smock mill from 1851. The garden and house from the miller are still fully furnished and I have heards, it is a must-visit in the summer months, when it is used for open air events. Strolling through the garden and along the canals of the park on a beautiful autumn day is a great way to unwind. The city's nickname "The City of Parks" speaks for itself.

Historic buildings and modern architecture in Malmö

Kungsparken in autumn

Malmö Castle, part of Sweden's cultural heritage

Historical smock mill from 1851 in Kungsparken

Café

Before we could get too cold from the Scandinavian autumn weather, we stopped at the café Eida. According to my brief google search on the train, this place is known for good cakes as well as a kid’s friendly atmosphere. And, we were not disappointed! It was 11 AM and the banana cake was freshly made, so I decided to go all in with this delicious morning treat! The friendly staff even offered us some children’s books for entertainment and nursing did not seem to be a big deal for anyone in the café. In addition, the changing table was spotless. Overall, this place has my best recommendation for a timeout with kids on a visit to Malmö.

That hygge feeling right here with coffee and cake

Museum

The Moderna Museet is one of the best modern and contemporary art museum in Scandinavia and has currently free admission. For me, being always interested in all kinds of art, and a baby, that loves to look colorful things, this was the right choice. We easily spent 2 hours in the museum (well, the little one was sleeping through most of the exhibition…) as the artwork from local Swedish artists was very impressive and gave me a lot of food for thoughts and discussions at home.

Current exhibitions 'Urgent' from Ulf Rollof and 'Dance like you mean it' about street dance

Selfie at the Moderna Museet with by babygirl in the carrier

Moderna museum shop right next to the coffee corner

Shopping

Malmö has some very nice shopping streets. However, it is not just the shops, but also old buildings, cafés and green spaces that make a city stroll so pleasant. If you are searching for some Swedish or Scandinavian brands this is the place to go. Please be aware that even though both countries, Denmark and Sweden, have a VAT of 25%, prices are not necessarily the same. Some products, such as consumer products, can be cheaper in Sweden. By the way, it is very common to pay with a debit/credit card in Sweden instead of using cash, even at the smallest shops for the smallest amounts, which means that you do not need to think about money exchange or the different currencies (Danish krone vs Swedish krone).

Impressive street art in Malmö

St. Peter's Church, gothic style

What do you need to pack for a day trip with a baby?

I know, it is very easy to pack for every eventuality when going out with a baby, but the odds are that you certainly do not need most of it. To be flexible and mobile, I carried my girl in the baby carrier all day and had a shoulder bag with me. Yes, no pram or stroller was needed for this lovely day trip to Malmö. In the picture below, you see all the stuff I had packed in the bag, which was sufficient.

The bag included diapers, wet cloths, water bottle, a muslin cloth, wool hat, gloves, a set of extra cloths and a toy for my daughter. Plus my purse, our passports, tissues (in the Frida Kahlo purse on the picture) and the power bank. My mobile phone is not on the picture, because I used it to take the picture...

All the things I packed for the day trip (pssst... the Frida Kahlo purse contains tissues)

Sculpture at the canal by Eva Hild

All in all, Malmö is a great city for a lovely, relaxing day trip. Taking a stroll around the park, the castle and the streets, mingling with the locals at a cozy café and visiting an exhibition with local artists, is the best way to get a first impression of the vibe and culture. I'm definately coming back!

Turning Torso: One of the reasons why I will visit Malmö again soon

I hope you enjoyed reading this blog post. Would you like to visit Malmö? What should I see and do next time I visit this beautiful city? Let me know!

Yorumlar


Our Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page